Dinner when you are overworked

via Daily Prompt: Overworked

Follow me Here on Pinterest

I love food! I love Pinterest! I love my crockpot! I have begun a routine of at least one meal a week is in my crockpot. Why? By the end of the week, the last thing I want to do is slave over dinner. There is nothing better feeling than loading the crockpot after I make the kids lunch and having free time for the rest of the day. Todays post is a few of our family favorites.

I did not write out the actual recipes as they are not mine, I found them on Pinterest and do not deserve any credit for them. I did provide the links to where I found them and the ingredients you will need. I hope you enjoy.

Beer can chicken – Yummy and moist! My husband didn’t understand the foil balls and the beer not actually touching the chicken but when he tasted it… he stopped questioning me. What you need – 

Meat

  • 1 (6 1/2 to 7 pound) whole chicken, whole

Produce

  • 1 tsp Garlic powder
  • 2 tsp Oregano, dried leaves
  • 2 tsp Thyme, dried leaves

Baking & Spices

  • 1 tsp Cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp Paprika, smoked
  • 2 tsp Pepper, coarse
  • 2 tsp Salt

Beer, Wine & Liquor

  • 1 can Beer

Other

  • 4 (6-inch) strips Aluminium foil, each bunched into a ball

Slow cooker lasagna – My bonus child hates lasagna, not sure why she loves spaghetti. To satisfy her enough to try and because my hubby hates ricotta and cottage cheese I omitted these. They loved it and couldn’t get enough. My husband actually said the sauce was the best he ever had.

You will need – 

Meat

  • 1/2 lb Ground beef
  • 1/2 lb Italian sausage

Produce

  • 2 tsp Garlic powder
  • 1 Onion, large
  • 2 tbsp Parsley

Canned Goods

  • 1 (6oz) can Tomato paste

Condiments

  • 1 (29 oz) can Tomato sauce
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

Pasta & Grains

  • 1 (8 oz) package Lasagna noodles, regular

Baking & Spices

  • 2 tbsp Granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt

Dairy

  • 1 1/2 cups Cottage cheese
  • 4 cups Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Liquids

  • 1 1/4 cups Water

Potato soup – I think the chicken stock was a little much. I think I would sub at least a cup of it with milk.

You will need – 

  • 6 slices cooked bacon*, diced
  • 3-4 cups good-quality chicken or vegetable stock
  • 2 pounds Yukon gold potatoes**, peeled (if desired) and diced
  • 1 medium white or yellow onion, peeled and diced
  • 4 tablespoons bacon grease* (or butter)
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 (12-ounce) can 2% evaporated milk
  • 1 cup shredded reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat Greek yogurt or low-fat sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt, or more to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly-cracked black pepper
  • optional toppings: thinly-sliced green onions or chives, extra shredded cheese, extra bacon, sour cream

Honey Lemon chicken – I would honestly omit the lemon being cooked inside the chicken. To us, it was a little overwhelming. Next time we will just squeeze a lemon over the chicken after cooking. Other than that it was great!

What you need –

Meat

  • 1 Chicken, whole roast

Produce

  • 1 Lemon, whole

Condiments

  • 1/2 cup Honey
  • 2 tbsp Lemon juice

Baking & Spices

  • 1 tsp Lemon pepper
  • 1 Salt

Oils & Vinegars

  • 2 tbsp Olive oil

Drinks

  • 1/2 cup Orange juice, lite

Dairy

  • 4 tbsp Butter

Crustless pizza – This is the house favorite to date! My bonus child has never ate dinner and said “Can we have this every week?” My husband was skeptical about the fact that it was crustless.

I served the pizza over buttered toast that was sprinkled with garlic powder. Instead of using hamburger.. we used breakfast sausage. Instead of using jarred pizza sauce I used a recipe that I also found on pinterest, it will be included also.

What you will need

  • 2 lbs Ground beef

Condiments

  • 1 14 oz jar Pizza sauce

Baking & Spices

  • 1 Garlic salt
  • 1 Your favorite pizza toppings

Dairy

  • 2 cup Mozzarella cheese
  • 2 cup Pizza blend cheese

Homemade pizza sauce – Instead of using the basil, thyme, and oregano..I just used Italian seasoning. I also omitted the bay leaf.

You will need

Produce

  • 1/4 tsp Basil, dried
  • 1 Bay leaf
  • 1/4 tsp Garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp Oregano, dried
  • 1/4 tsp Thyme, dried

Condiments

  • 1/2 tsp Lemon juice
  • 15 oz Tomato sauce

Baking & Spices

  • 1/8 tsp Black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Sugar

Liquids

  • 1/4 cup Water

 

 

 

Leave a comment