Holiday anticipation

This is only my second Thanksgiving with my husband. Roles at his parents have already been established his dad makes the Turkey, Sister makes the pies and green bean casserole, Mom makes everything else. Every dinner, we bring the Soda and if any needed the chips. I’m rebelling this year… I love to cook and love desserts. I’m making no-bake Reese’s rice krispie cookies, Pumpkin cheesecake balls, and Magic custard cake. I  can’t wait til dinner.

Most of us in his family see each other or speak on a daily basis. Thanksgiving and Christmas are the only time we are all together in one spot. It gets super interesting. The sibling remind the parents of the mischief they got into. The siblings mess with each other like they are still teenagers. They teach their off-spring to mess with their cousins as if they were siblings. There is not a dull second when the Keesling Clan is under one roof. I love seeing my Husband forgetting about the stress of his job, our financials, the outside issues with those we have children with. I love learning more about my husband childhood. I have never been big on the way holidays are commercialized but I LOVE LOVE LOVE this family life and the aroma of a meal cooked with love.

No bake Reeses Krispy treat cookies – these are super easy to make, require little time, and are delish.

You need

  • 4 cups Rice krispies cereal
  • 1 cup Corn syrup, light
  • 1 1/4 cups Peanut butter, creamy
  • 5 Reese’s peanut butter cups, regular sized
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup Milk chocolate chips

Melt Peanut butter, corn syrup and sugar in the microwave I did 2 minutes.

Pour over cereal and mix.

Pour in Chocolate chips and mix. Let cool for a few minutes.

Break up Reeses and mix in the rest.

Spoon onto wax paper and let cool.

Flatten…. done

Magic Custard cake – This is truely magic! I did not think for a second when I placed it in the oven it was going to turn out. It did and was great except I would add a tad more vanilla and would whip the egg whites AFTER putting the other ingredients together.

My no bake cheesecake balls failed –

Leave a Reply

