Promises

36bbb341c8def3fea01ea76538700a32

We have all made a promise at one point or another, some over use them.

I promise to love my children til my last breath.

I promise to love my husband until my last breath.

I promise to do my part to raise my step- children and love them as my own.

I promise to never give up on making the best life for my family.

I promise to never relapse into my meth addiction ( 16 yrs clean)

I promise to never make a promise I can’t keep.

4236cf8c51681f58d1b08d3582393547

I promise you, this is the last time. Who are you kidding? If you wanted the behavior to stop… you would stop it. I always cringe when I hear this one. It screams desperation. This person is addicted to something and not ready to give it up. Drugs, control, attention, who knows but that person is not giving up the habit anytime soon.

I promise if you… Nope! A true promise is unconditional no strings attached. I hate hearing kids being made promises if they are good. The person making the promise holds all control, they can find that minute way out.

Promising the material things – There’s always an excuse.

Political promises – Straight up BULL-SHIT! You can agree with their stances or their record but if you believe a promise…you my friend are a damn fool. Do you really believe that someone who has been in politics somehow (even Trump has enough money for pus and pull) is going to fulfill their promise? All of them have been in a position to change things re-electing them or electing them to a higher position is NOT going to change that.

9be2bc05b259336ded09dea404ca13b5

Marriage is a promise. Marriage is not always easy. I always promised myself that my first would be my last. I didn’t end my first one but I’m thankful for my second chance at life. It sickens me how marriage is more of a status with this generation. I know of a girl who in the last year has married two guys twice. Why?

My husband is my partner, my best friend, my equal. As a team, we run this household. He is the breadwinner, not my ATM. My love for him is unconditional. Do we fight? OH YES! We do not agree on everything, life would be boring if we did. Even on the rough days, I am proud to walk through this life with Jeffery. I love him because he challenges me. I love him because he loves me even on days that I do not love myself. I love him because he doesn’t promise me the world. He instead makes sure that we build our world together.

Together we promised

To be honest no matter how hard the truth is.

To be faithful

To make decisions together

To give each other space

To never try to change the other

To start each day as a new…no argument carries over to the next day

 

 

via Daily Prompt: Promises

Leave a Reply

