Away with the Original Christmas plans

via Daily Prompt: Original

I have been a mother for twenty years and come Christmas I always loathe myself. Why? I overspend on crap that the kids play with for two weeks and when I get sick of their rooms looking like a hoarders paradise…its a fight to get rid of said toy. As they hit 10 years old they seem to not think anything is cool.

If it were not for the excitement of Christmas for the little ones, I would just be done with it all. I hate the greed and impatience that the holiday season brings. I hate that companies create commercials “Be a cool parent and get your child a ……. phone.” I dont want to buy my child a phone! My child is a child! My child has no job to pay the bill! My child is still nieve! No… but thanks for making me ruin Christmas because my child wants that phone.

Last year was my first Christmas with my Husband. I wanted it to be special and it was but stressful. We had the tree full by Christmas Eve. When Santa arrived we had more stuff lined up across our living room. Stockings were on the couch. Four trash bags of just paper. We go to his parents and lugged two trunks full of stuff home.

I don’t want to this year! I would rather spend the money on crafts and making memories with the kids than buying crap and that’s what I’m going to do!

Crafts-

Rehab vintage lights – I love going to auctions and recently got a dozen vintage lights. Jaden is going to LOVE this project.

b147d9386b8ea5369c23fb16f0619bfb

Terra Cotta Apple for teacher gift

DIY gift bags using wrapping paper

This is going to be the list we stick to!

7 gift rule for Children

c346cdf38ef27c5f7d69ae60634cbac8.jpg

We have dessert duty for Christmas dinner-

Christmas cookies using Funfetti cake mix –

Beerbutter fudge

Candy cane fudge

Lumps of coal – these are actually a gift for my 3 yr old nephew. He is a bit spoiled and keeps getting told he’s getting coal from Santa.

Gifts for the rest of the list-

Slipper ideas

Open Bar – My Husband likes to drink the hard stuff sometimes but I rarely allow it. He will love this

Cash – My Tween nephew is going to have a fit. I think instead of a fry box we will use a 10 piece nugget box and tape change to the bottom for weight. “Sorry man, this all we could afford…we didn’t know what kinda sauce to get you.”

With all of these ideas, I still need more! We do not shop for the adults except for our parents and my sister in-law (hers is from the kids because she baby-sits.) My mom is easy.. something smelly good and done. His parents are AMAZING to us, they deserve something really special this year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

